2018 Canadian Electrical Code Review Consultation

Verbatim feedback

Includes all comments submitted as of July 31, 2018.

Comments have been posted and moderated as per Technical Safety BC’s Content Submission Guidelines

Number of comments: 205

Date of submission

Respondent type

Support adoption of the 2018 CEC in BC

Comments

Possible impacts of the 2018 CEC

Jul 31,
2018
11.49 PM
  No    
Jul 30,
2018
6.58 PM
General public Neutral    No comment
Jul 28,
2018
5.58 PM
  Yes    
Jul 28,
2018
5.57 PM
  Yes    
Jul 28,
2018
5.55 PM
  Yes    
Jul 25,
2018
6.36 PM
FSR, Training Provider Unsure

I agree if the Sec. 66 t-tap amendment is made, if not I don’t agree.

10-214 needs clarification wording on the use of grounding electrodes with generators. Otherwise it appears to say that grounding of all generators is no longer required.

The Sec. 66 t-tap amendment will bring back the rule that reflects the Film/tv/entertainment industries current practices. This should have never been changed in the 2015 code. It makes no sense. T-taps are safe if used correctly, like any other piece of electrical gear. Also, the new rule 10-214 could have a serious impact on the safety of film/tv/entertainment workers. It appears to say the grounding generators is no longer required??? If so this could take us back to the times before we were certified and getting electrical shocks from poorly grounded systems was common. Bad idea.

The sec. 66 t-tap change has caused increased cost on our industry. The equipment suppliers have had to invest in other types of gear to offset this unnecessary change and they pass that cost on to the Productions that come to BC to spend money. This makes us less competitive when compared to other “filming” jurisdictions around North America. Also this change has had cost impacts on labour costs as well as transportation costs on our foreign based production companies. We have seen in the past when costs and fees increase here that we loose this lucrative business to other places in North America. We need to be careful not to loose the business that has been built in BC by making unnecessary regulations that cause increased costs.

Jul 25,
2018
1.32 PM
FSR Yes Overall the code changes are fine for the work I do in the entertainment industry, and the rewritten Section 10 is very clear and concise. I do have some problems with the language of Section 66-456 7 and 8. The language in Section 66-456 (7) and (8) puts an undue stress on the film industry with no actual reasons that are satisfactory to our industry. There is no proof, backed up by incident reports, to show that there is undue, and potentially dangerous, stress placed on "tee taps" when used in multiples, and that tee/crowsfoot towers (multiple connection devices) are any safer. What this has done to the film industry in British Columbia is cause a large financial burden, among other things, based on the cost of the purported remedy, "tee/crowsfoot towers". The option is more costly to rent, by $10 per equivalent ports, versus multiple tee taps; does not give as many options to the user; and takes up more truck space. Plus as the tee/crowsfoot tower is 20 pounds heavier, by weight, than the equivalent amount of ports made available through the use of tee taps. From a budgeting standpoint, we now need to budget up to 60 of the tower units, versus the 10-15 we carry at present on our cable trucks, as well as the 200-250 tee taps we carry at present. This raises our costs upwards of 400%, in rentals alone, to satisfy the requirements of the code that we see as being unproven. From a trucking standpoint this could add a truck, and driver, to carry the added towers as cable trucks are not designed to carry this many towers, and if so, the added weight may cause extra trucking to support the other items on the truck that have to be removed to make way for the towers. From a weight standpoint, we have several things that could be of concern. Firstly, the weight of the tower is 29 pounds, whereas the weight of the tee tap equivalent is 10 pounds. This weight difference could cause injury to the worker carrying the tower due to the added weight. Secondly, we have to look at the weight when we suspend these devices from ceilings; walls; and other stationary places. 29 pounds is a substantial weight that has to be reckoned with. Added to this is the fact that the handles on the towers are not designed to be used as rigging points, only for carrying the device, which means there is no approved manner to suspend them. This means there is a large liability being carried by the worker and the production when we do this. The same is not true with hanging multiple tee taps as there are many ways to do it safely, and without worry. As the tee/crowsfoot tower can only be used as built, and the cheaper option of multiple tee taps can be used in many ways under multiple circumstances, financially we are put in a bad way as we are now having to order things that may not be necessary to fulfill the Code requirements that are certainly not the most economical, and may not be the safest either. Ultimately, the reasoning for the change away from the ability to use multiple tee taps is not clear, and places an undue burden on the industry without a clear reason for the change. The best way to deal with this is to remove the language from (7) and (8) from section 66-454.
Jul 24,
2018
1.00 PM
FSR, Training Provider No I work in the Film Industry as an electrical worker. I see the rule about tee taps as a problem for how we have traditionally done our job in the past. I agree with the request to vary the code in BC to again allow the use of multiple tee taps. Keeping the code as is will cause continuing and increasing cost to our foreign productions in labour, trucking/transportation as well as capitol cost for the equipment suppliers to carry and install larger, heavier and less flexible alternatives.

For Film/TV/entertainment I see a change to 10-214 that seems to say that our aerators and electrical systems do mot need to use a ground electrode any more. I'm not sure this is wise wording and may need some explanation for us in entertainment. Many of my colleagues in film/TV electrical work are talking about this apparent change.

66-456(7) & (8) have and will continue to cause significant difficulties to the film/tv electrical worker and increased cost to the foreign owned production companies. Increases in labour and trucking/transportation have occurred and will continue to occur. Alternatively some workers are not complying with this change and continue to use multiple tee taps as has been our past practice.

Jul 21,
2018
7.07 PM
  Yes Most rules have a common sense reason  
Jul 20,
2018
7.07 PM
Electrical Contractor No Arc faults To costly
Jul 20,
2018
9.25 AM
Developer  Yes   Working space around the transformer is changed which will provide more safety.
Jul 19,
2018
8.23 AM
Other Yes   Table 16 which much simpler in the 2015 code. It was just based on the conductor. The 2018 code says it is based on the breaker and the conductor. As the conductor amperage should always meet or exceed the breaker size, the 2015 code was better in saying it is just based on the conductor amperage. I like how the PDF version of the 2018 code has the tables bookmarked. They are much easier to find now.
Jul 19,
2018
7.16 PM
  Yes    
Jul 18,
2018
8.48 PM
  No    
Jul 18,
2018
7.46 PM
  No Arc fault rules  
Jul 18,
2018
4.51 PM
  Neutral    
Jul 18,
2018
4.49 PM
  Yes    
Jul 18,
2018
2.52 PM
  Yes All of the proposed changes seem to be focused on increasing safety, or permitting new products to be used.  
Jul 18,
2018
12.52 PM
  Yes Changes are generally pretty reasonable and provide clarity to areas which were otherwise subject to misinterpretation. FINALLY, the ability to demand limit on EV charging.  
Jul 18,
2018
10.35 AM
  Yes    
Jul 17,
2018
4.27 PM
General Public, Other trade Neutral    
Jul 17,
2018
3.04 PM
  Yes I would like to see BC stay current with the rest of the country. If other provinces do not adopt within each code cycle, then they run the risk of lagging too far behind and catching up may be an issue.  
Jul 13,
2018
9.17 AM
Other Yes  

The deletion of Rule 8-106(1), the "5% Rule". This will increase cost of every single project in the province, because if the calculated demand load of a circuit is one or two amps below the smallest standard conductor in common use, the conductor and switch size must be increased.

No

Jul 12,
2018
3.06 PM
Electrical contractor, General Public, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property Manager Yes    
Jul 12,
2018
9.13 AM
FSR Unsure Summary of changes was very unspecific.  
Jul 12,
2018
8.50 AM
Manufacturer Yes

There are changes that enhance safety.

10-302 requires neutral-impedance monitoring, which is new, and it also requires immediate tripping if the impedance device fails. There are no exceptions to the tripping requirement (in contrast to the allowance for continued operation with a ground fault under defined conditions). I would suggest that the Code should be amended so impedance-device-failure alarming (audible/visible), as opposed to tripping, is allowed, provided that ground-fault detection is active even if the impedance device is open. (Some impedance-device monitors have this capability because they monitor, and operate on, neutral voltage, as well as current.)

For new installations implementing impedance grounding, monitoring the impedance (typically a resistor) is now mandatory (10-302). While many such sites already have monitoring (in addition to mining, where is was already mandatory), this will add cost if monitoring would not have been a part of the system design. Additional cost is dependent on system voltage, varying from $3,000 to
Jul 12,
2018
6.50 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR Yes    
Jul 11,
2018
7.48 PM
Red seal electrician Yes

I agree, mostly, but I think BC should make an exemption to the receptacle rule to allow receptacles to be put in cupboards for the purpose of plugging in light switch controlled LED under-cabinet lighting. For the 2018 CEC, it still only allows for garburators, and receptacles with automatic disconnections when the door is closed.

I think BC should make an exemption to the receptacle rule to allow receptacles to be put in cupboards for the purpose of plugging in light switch controlled LED under-cabinet lighting. For the 2018 CEC, it still only allows for garburators, and receptacles with automatic disconnections when the door is closed.

The load calculation allowance for electric cars as in your summary listed, should help customers achieve their needs of high current usage, where in the 2015 code would have been difficult to achieve based on the restrictions in 2015.

Try to consider eliminating changes that increase the cost of doing business. Such as almost every breaker needing to be AFCI now.

Jul 11,
2018
11.56 AM
FSR Yes    
Jul 11,
2018
11.50 AM
General public, FSR, Electrical contractor No It is made without any real input from any interested bodies other than fire protection. The code changes were made, and then we hold a round of discussion for it...come on people...

New rules in Section 16 for the adaption of higher power inside class 2 circuits.

This round includes a MASSIVE change to the low energy systems industry. Time and time again, the council that coordinates the CEC and it's updates continually undermine the industry and cannot seem to grasp Tue very serious reality, that line voltage electrical contractors in the majority, do NOT WANT TO WORK WITH CLASS 2, and they DO NOT CARE ABOUT CLASS 2. And as long as we continue to treat the class 2 sections as "electrical" work, without treating it as it's own specialty industry, we will never truly innovate in this sector the way it needs. At some point, these committees need to remove these blinders they continue to wear.

Jul 11,
2018
10.52 AM
General public, Red seal electrician, FSR Yes Electric Vehicle Charging should have a demand rating. We want to encourage EV plugs in developments and now developers are including 100% EV charger receptacles in high rise developments. Because these are rated at 100% demand factor, this ends up being a larger demand load then each of the suite loads. These should have a declining load rating factor for the more plugs installed similar to apartment demand load ratings.  
Jul 11,
2018
10.43 AM
Other Yes    
Jul 5,
2018
7.43 PM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
1) EVSE can have negative impact on residential project, especialy when the required rating is bigger than 1800W (with a 20A, 120V circuit). Lots of owner/builder asking for 9.6kw ( with 50A, 240V circuit). Since the code require %100 of this load in calculation, then We have to cut other loads, such as heating and sunna. Which potential conflict between contractor and owner/builder. In my opinion EVSE should be limited to 3.84kw ( with 20A, 240V circuit).
Jun 28, 2018
1.01 PM
General Public
Neutral
 
 
Jun 27, 2018
8.25 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 26, 2018
3.05 PM
Other
Unsure
 
 
Jun 25, 2018
8.52 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 22, 2018
11.35 AM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 21, 2018
4.17 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
 
Jun 21, 2018 
3.50 PM
 
Neutral
   
Jun 20, 2018,
9.02 PM
 
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 20, 2018,
6.36 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 20, 2018,
6.29 PM
 
No
No because of the overall cost to the consumer and not that noticeably safer install.
 
Jun 20, 2018,
5.39 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 20, 2018,
4.53 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 20, 2018,
3.25 PM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
reorganization of section 10 adds clarity and is more logically set up. Allowance for smoke and Co alarms on AFCI protected circuits with battery backup. this adds versatility in wiring.,
find a way to make adoption faster or automatic.
Jun 20, 2018,
3.04 PM
General public, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
The adoption of better electric vehicle charging demand is long overdue.,
26-724(f) Although I fully agree with arc faulting, I think what can be excused from this rule needs to be looked at more closely. I have had new microwaves, and washers, trip 15A AFCI breakers. Certain appliances, especially ones that aren't moved (washers) should be excused.
 
Jun 20, 2018,
12.33 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, Red seal electrician, Property management, Developer/ Architect, Educator
No
There is not enough attention to farm compliance and in particular greenhouses as being specifically classified as a web environment. EMT with dry connectors, teck-cable with dry connectors, metal pan boxes, metal junction boxes and the like are all wrong for installation inside of any greenhouse. The result is electrical installations in greenhouses fall short regarding the lack of attention to safety of electrical components.
I would be happy to illustrate why greenhouses are not properly classified from the electrical safety perspective. It boils down to understanding that spray carts are used regularly throughout, humidity approaches 90%, condensation dripping on everything is normal during parts of the year, overhead spray is often used, fogging is used, power washing is used extensively during clear-up and so on and so forth.
Jun 20, 2018,
3.56 AM
 
Yes
Up to date training a great idea
 
Jun 19, 2018,
9.11 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 19, 2018,
2.53 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, Red seal electrician, FSR, property management
Yes
 
 
Jun 19, 2018,
10.54 AM
Other
Yes
 
 
Jun 19, 2018,
8.27 AM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 18, 2018,
3.07 PM
 
Yes
Overall the changes are providing clarity for areas of the code which had become challenging to interpret.
 
Jun 18, 2018,
2.33 PM
 
Yes
The codes that are updated are they to protect the workers
 
Jun 18, 2018,
1.12 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 18, 2018,
9.14 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR, Other trade
 
 
 
Jun 18, 2018,
8.45 AM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 18, 2018,
8.09 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 17, 2018,
9.58 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 17, 2018,
8.26 AM
Red seal electrician
Unsure
Summary is not specific. Too general.
 
Jun 15, 2018,
7.12 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
6.24 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
3.01 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
12.41 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
12.28 PM
FSR
Neutral
Not sure of the complete revisions upcoming. Arc faults for microwave circuits should be removed. Nuisance tripping often. Like a fridge, it is an appliance that rarely moves. Once it is place, it rarely gets unplugged to wear out receptacle to cause arcing.
 
Jun 15, 2018,
11.34 AM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
11.29 AM
 
Unsure
I'm not clear about the electrical code and what changes are being made.
 
Jun 15, 2018,
10.44 AM
Other, Red seal electrician, Other trade
Yes
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
10.30 AM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
10.03 AM
 
Yes
Rule 26-724 (f) requires that most branch circuits be protected by an AFCI Breaker. While I agree with most of this rule, I feel that the requirement for the Microwave to be on an AFCI Breaker needs to be reviewed. Over the past year we have had several issues with the AFCI Breaker continually tripping when the Microwave is on. We have found that when the Microwave is on an AFCI Breaker it will not hold. We have performed several site tests and cannot find anything wrong with the wiring or the Microwave. There seems to be an issue with the electronics in the Microwave interacting with the AFCI. When the Microwave ran on an AFCI the starting amperage spiked to 18Amps causing the AFCI to immediately trip. We changed our site wiring to 20Amp wiring and a 20Amp AFCI, thinking this may resolve the issue. It did not. The only way the Microwave would run without tripping was putting it on a standard 15Amp Breaker. I feel this must be an issue with more contractors than just us. I think the AFCI Breaker is being removed and a standard 15Amp Breaker is being installed to fix the issue. Since the Microwave is an appliance and is typically never removed, why can it not fall into the same category as the Fridge? This would allow the Microwave to be on a standard 15Amp Breaker which would resolve an issue that has become expensive for us and has been an issue for homeowners. I have discussed this issue with Ulrich Janisch and CSA.
The code rule requiring powered switches be wired with an identified conductor will increase the cost of suite rough wire, especially on large apartment and townhome projects.
Jun 15, 2018,
9.46 AM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 15, 2018,
9.42 AM
 
Unsure
Have not seen enough about it.
 
Jun 15, 2018,
9.25 AM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
9.21 PM
 
Yes
I agree , however it seems many are still confused re the new ampacity changes in table 2 for 14 and 12 gauge wire etc.
 
Jun 14, 2018,
8.41 PM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician
Yes
Majority of the changes are cosmetic in nature and will not significantly improve electrical system or worker safety.
 
Jun 14, 2018,
7.25 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
6.03 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
4.17 PM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
11.21 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
11.02 AM
General public, Red seal electrician, FSR, manufacturer
Yes
 
 
Jun 14, 2018,
7.23 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
10.40 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
9.59 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
9.01 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
8.06 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
5.27 PM
 
No
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
5.00 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
3.52 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
3.49 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
3.31 PM
Red seal electrician
Unsure
Unsure why there will be more changes to grounding and bonding rules. I question the many changes to this section over the years. It almost seems like unqualified persons or persons with little subject knowledge have been allowed to make these changes, some of which have been considerable (i.e. ground wire sizing).
 
Jun 13, 2018,
2.42 PM
 
Yes
Important to stay current
 
Jun 13, 2018,
2.30 PM
 
Neutral
I agree in principle, but some changes seem "over the top"
 
Jun 13, 2018,
2.21 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
12.37 PM
Electrical contractor, Provincial Government, General public, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property management
Yes
Keeping up with the latest technology
 
Jun 13, 2018,
11.12 AM
Electrical contractor
Neutral
I would like to see a requirement for at least one dedicated circuit for bathroom gfci's as this is long overdue. The are too many issues with lighting circuits being overloaded with bath gfci plugs on them. The issues are dimming lights tripping breakers. A suggestion would be 1-20 amp circuit for all bath gfci's or max. 2 bath outlet on 1-15amp dedicated circuit, preference would be for ensuite to be on separate circuit from main bath.
26-710 Need dedicated circuit for bathroom gfci's as they are overloaded and cause lights to dim when blow-dryers (1200-1800w plus flatiron's etc)
Jun 13, 2018,
9.23 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
8.39 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
7.57 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
7.43 AM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
5.40 AM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 13, 2018,
12.18 AM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
11.29 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
10.36 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
9.55 PM
 
Neutral
It seems to me that it is quite ridiculous that there is a dedicated nook circuit however the bathroom gfi's are on lighting circuits when they should have their own dedicated circuit, this should have been adopted 20 years ago. I am beyond baffled as to why this has not been adopted ages ago, customers always complaining about this however builders don't want to pay for additional feed.
 
Jun 12, 2018,
9.14 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
8.54 PM
 
No
The rewrite of sec 10 was unnecessary and was bullied through by its chair due process wasn’t followed.
 
Jun 12, 2018,
8.48 PM
 
No
Arc Fault Breakers throughout the home
 
Jun 12, 2018,
8.06 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
8.01 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
7.04 PM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
7.02 PM
 
No
AFCI protection needs to be reviewed and adjusted. The amount of circuits included to be AFCI Protected is extensive and unneeded due to other sources of protection!
 
Jun 12, 2018,
6.59 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
6.47 PM
 
No
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
6.41 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
6.27 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
6.15 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.45 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.36 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.33 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.33 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.30 PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.28 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.28 PM
 
No
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.27 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.26 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.24 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.20 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.19 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.18 PM
 
No
Costs a lot to adopt, what's wrong worth the current code?
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.16PM
 
Neutral
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.15 PM
 
Yes
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
5.13 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
3.40 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
3.14 PM
 
Unsure
 
 
Jun 12, 2018,
9.59 PM
Electrical contractor, Provincial Government, general public, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property management
Yes
Ease of use and more practical.
 
Jun 11, 2018,
5.15 PM
Property Management
Yes
 
 
Jun 11, 2018,
3.56 PM
General public
Yes
 
 
Jun 11, 2018,
2.42 PM
Provincial Government, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property Management
Yes
Changes seem reasonable.
 
Jun 11, 2018,
12.25 PM
Other
Yes
it’s in regards to the amount of plugin/outlet receptacles required per wall by footage along walls. the number of plugs required is too high. no one requires that many on a wall in their home. it creates more cost for wiring, electricity, renovation around wiring for plumbing and heating is more difficult and is in general useless. especially when we are attempting to be less of a consumer household. i am sorry i do not have the code or page numbers to reference.
Solar roofing tiles. how best to have them wired in with their power supply tower. i am referring to roll up solar panels and the Tesla roofing tile system
Jun 11, 2018,
12.20 PM
Property management, Educator, Other
Neutral
 
The additional space for transformers, proposed can negatively impact the ability to do temporary installs for live events.
Jun 11, 2018,
8.13 AM
Electrical contractor, General public, FSR, Red seal electrician
Yes
 
None that come to mind.
Jun 11, 2018,
7.35 AM
Red seal electrician, Other trade, FSR, Property management
Neutral
 
 
Jun 9, 2018,
6.58 PM
General Public, red seal electrician, Other trade
Yes
 
Nothing to add
Jun 9, 2018,
12.35 PM
General Public
Unsure
not enough plain information for lay person
 
Jun 9, 2018,
10.43 AM
General Public
Yes
Changes appear to make good sense
 
Jun 9, 2018,
10.42 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR, Provincial Government, General public, Other trade
Yes
As industry changes the electrical codes need to change to maximize electrical safety.
 
Jun 8, 2018,
11.13 PM
Other trade
No
 
 
Jun 8, 2018,
5.40 PM
Provincial Government, General public, Other trade
Yes
Rules around having a shop only service versus a house and shop service are very unclear to the home owner permit.
 
Jun 8, 2018,
3.02 PM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Unsure
Smoke detectors should not be on afci or gfi ccts. for adding to an existing cct, the receptacle you tap off of should be the one you should install the arc fault device on. Attached garages or shops should allow for non arc fault ccts as power tools are tripping the new combo arc fault breakers. Additional dedicated fridges or freezers located outside of kitchen should not have to be installed on acfi ccts. changes to rules and numbers should not be done. If a new section is to be added, make a new rule number. Don't insert new rules into existing rules.
26-724 (f),
Why is there a consultations this late in the game? This should have happened before the book was printed. If the code does not get adopted in BC, will we be reimbursed the cost of pre ordering the 3 code books we now have?
Jun 8, 2018,
2.52 PM
Other, FSR, Educator
No
1. I have serious concerns with rules 2-308 and 2-312 regarding 1m working clearance around transformers and rear-access to enclosures solely for cable terminations. Cable terminations are often done in tight spaces - and of course, they are never done live, the result being a major impact to customer costs (required square footage for electrical rooms will go up drastically), without improving safety. Vast majority of cable terminations, you bolt them up once and never need access them again. The 1m clearance is not required. It will be especially problematic to many installations in tight electrical rooms when renovations or changes are to be made and the room no longer meets code.,
2. 2) I don't believe the other changes are significant enough to warrant all the time and expense involved for the industry to purchase and retrain for the new code. Reissuing the code every 3 years is excessive; seriously problematic safety or practicality concerns can be addressed by way of Technical Safety Bulletins. ,
Rules 2-308 and 2-312: As per my notes above, I believe BC should relax the requirement for 1m clearance around transformer and rear-access enclosures where the only accessible component are cable-terminations. I agree with the 1m clearance on operating / working / replaceable parts, but this requirement is excessive for simple cable-terminations and will cause major cost, design and compliance problems, while having no appreciable improvements to safety.
I have serious concerns with rules 2-308 and 2-312 regarding 1m working clearance around transformers and rear-access to enclosures solely for cable terminations. Cable terminations are often done in tight spaces - and of course, they are never done live, the result being a major impact to customer costs (required square footage for electrical rooms will go up drastically), without improving safety. Vast majority of cable terminations, you bolt them up once and never need access them again. The 1m clearance is excessive and not required. It will be especially problematic to many many installations in tight electrical rooms when renovations or changes are to be made and the room no longer meets code.,
Adopting the new standard every three years is excessive, placing undue training and compliance burdens on the industry. Major concerns can be dealt with by issuing bulletins.
Jun 8, 2018,
1.47 PM
Property management
Yes
 
 
Jun 8, 2018,
1.04 PM
Electrical contractor, Provincial Government, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property management, manufacturer
Unsure
 
Maybe put out a quick page of the changes so we could review.
Jun 8, 2018,
10.56 AM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
Identified conductor. that men no wait hot circuit for LT or bathroom fan control.
Jun 8, 2018,
9.52 AM
General public
Unsure
Seem vague, in particular the highlight that says: “requires hazardous site assessment to be conducted by “a qualified person” I feel this potentially will add delays and costs to homeowners already burdened by multiple “qualified persons” or assessments.
Yes, in particular the highlight that says: “requires hazardous site assessment to be conducted by “a qualified person” I feel this potentially will add delays and costs to homeowners already burdened by multiple “qualified persons” or assessments.
Jun 8, 2018,
9.36 AM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 8, 2018,
9.11 AM
Provincial Government, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 7, 2018,
3.59 PM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
All the changes seem within reason.
 
Jun 7, 2018,
12.45 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, Other, Red seal electrician, FSR, Property management
Yes
 
 
Jun 7, 2018,
10.32 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
No
There are some changes that seem a bit onerous. Every device box having a neutral and additional AF protection.
Neutral to each switch device box will increase cost (copper is not cheap) AF Protection. Extremely difficult and expensive to add outlets in a renovation etc. Adding lighting to AF circuits will produce a lot of nuisance tripping as to appliance such a vacuum cleaners.
Jun 7, 2018,
10.26 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR, educator
Yes
All changes appear to make sense, keeping the smoke and carbon monoxide detectors on a primary lighting circuit, in my thoughts, should stay that way to prevent stuttering off the circuit to quiet the alarms and forgetting to turn on the breaker again. With every second power poles neutral grounded a #6 bare copper is sufficient for grounding a residential service panel up to 200 amps. Remember these are minimum requirements and I will not practice reduced conductor size in a residential with the 90 degree C. enclosed from point A to point B. Maybe nothing to worry about but I have a gut feeling about that change. The identified conductor in a switch box will save time tying in the circuit if done after the building is completed and the conductors entering the switch box cannot be viewed, also saves time trouble shooting if required.
Looks good and better all the time
Jun 7, 2018,
7.38 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Unsure
I have only seen the summary and haven't studied the changes in depth, therefore I am not able to recommend the adoption or not.
 
Jun 7, 2018,
6.50 AM
FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 7, 2018,
5.50 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
Everything I looked at makes sense. Streamline as much as possible.
 
Jun 6, 2018,
7.12 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, Red seal electrician, FSR, property manager, Developer/ Architect
Yes
8-106 (10) EVEMS should be mandatory in dwelling units that also have electric range, dryers or other loads of similar nature. With the rise in popularity of EV's as well as high density properties, services are being overloaded due to the wide range of EV chargers on the market that are being installed after construction.
I disagree with the list of exemptions when it comes to AFCI protection. I believe that receptacles wired in garages should be added to the exemption list. They are causing nuisance tripping when certain power tools are being plugged in and this frustration is forcing home owners to want to remove them completely from their electrical system.
Jun 6, 2018,
3.24 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, FSR
No
The El Code shall be implemented by professional El Professors not by CEO of the manufactory companies ! Too many senseless decisions and changes were made only to satisfy the greed of financial gain of the manufactory sector.,
Too many useless changes have been made in the last 10 Yrs. Very few changes are for safety and make sense.
Arc Breakers are useless ! Smoked detectors in virtually every room is a waste being interconnected increases the chaos. Cost of wiring a house has gone up by 30% + Outside Gfci is good but not on an Arc Breaker Service. Kitchen Plugs should be on a 12/2 or 12/3 Circuit ( 20 A ) but not split wired ! Permit Fee Cost is way too high ! The el Code shall be written by highly qualified electricians with a minimum of 20Yrs. Experience!!,
Electricians and Contractors as well as El Inspectors shall be working together to adopt the El Code ! No CEO or so called professor Goofies shall have an input on the Canadian El Code which shall be unified across the Country !!
Jun 6, 2018,
3.11 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, other, Red seal electrician, FSR, property manager
Unsure
 
Additional cost pressures on additional space requirements - will require buy-in by the end user to dedicate more "common" space which can not be leased out.
Jun 6, 2018,
2.48 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, other, Red seal electrician, FSR, work for regulatory agency
Yes
 
Cost of installed materials incurred for required equipment. This will push a quote cost higher, with not all existing contractors aware of these changes. They will be hit at the end with a failed inspection. Let’s hope all the FSR's and estimators out there keep aware of the newly imposed changes!,
Residential Dwelling - deletion of the 15 A / 120 V receptacles that can be mounted upside down under kitchen cabinetry for appliance plug in. Key deterrents: - Kettles, toasters, etc., that may be plugged in, possible directly under the receptacle, causing a short and fire hazard. - Twist lock designation for receptacles that are mounted facing downward.
Jun 6, 2018,
12.38 PM
Provisional Government, Red seal electrician, FSR, property manager
Yes
 
The changes to load calculations to accommodate ev chargers will help with many upcoming projects.
Jun 6, 2018,
10.21 AM
FSR
Yes
 
Allowing the use of T-taps in BC.
Jun 6, 2018,
9.48 AM
Electrical contractor, Red seal electrician, FSR
Neutral
Too many changes that benefit corporate interests, and create the monument agenda of the CEC and Technical Safety BC.
Electric vehicle charging changes.,
Stop creating work and justifying your existence. There is no reason we need to have as many changes as the current pace is on. Quebec seems to be doing fine at a much slower pace of change. Also the permit costs are too high. Contractor that work in certain areas of the trade (residential) have a tough pitch to sell and often make 12-15% if they are lucky and get paid. Permit costs base on 12% or higher give Technical Safety as much or more than the contractor makes without any risk or difficulty collecting. Add another %12 for Government taxes and you start to understand why the underground market in residential existing. The poor contractor is 24% higher out of the start gates. For service calls (1hr) the min permit fee is generally higher than most shops hourly rate. Many changes, such as Arc fault really put the cost up. If the technology is proven (which it is not) costs could be reduced by mandating all panel main sections to incorporate an Arc Fault / GFCI main breaker.
Jun 6, 2018,
9.48 AM
Electrical contractor, General public, Red seal electrician, FSR, Educator
Yes
 
Make every switch location (regardless of the presence of powered or lit switches) required to have an identified conductor. It will force a change in wiring methods that will be practicable for troubleshooting and future renovations.
Jun 6, 2018,
9.44 AM
General public, work for regulatory agency
Yes
Have not yet noticed any changes or issues that are dramatically excessive or unnecessary.,
26-708 (8) New clause Receptacles of CSA configurations 5-15R, 5-20R, 5-20RA, 6-15R, 6-20R, and 6-20RA shall be of the Weather Resistant type. The Receptacle is approved under CSA C22.2 No. 42-10, and require any receptacle intended for use in Wet or Damp locations to be marked "Weather Resistant" or "WR". Receptacles not marked WR and installed within Wet or Damp environments are not considered Approved under 2-024. This enforcement however is not often known due to minimal industry awareness, whereas in the US NFPA 70-2014 (or 2017) it is explicitly called out to ensure compliance is assured (406.9(A)(B)). CSA Full Impact Assessment Subject 3860 & 3876 refer to the same issue noted in the Cover Plate industry awareness and the impact assessment will be dramatically similar.
By adding the requirement within 26-708 instead of reforming it and including it within 26-700 the ambiguity and enforcement concerns of 'damp' locations within a building can be avoided until the industry is more aware of the receptacle type usage.
Jun 6, 2018,
8.27 AM
Educator
Yes
Section 86 needs more information. I believe all EVSE over 20 Amp level 2 should be hard wired into the panel for safety.
Table 6a and the rest should go back to table 6 as it was back in 2012.
Jun 6, 2018,
8.01 AM
Red seal electrician, FSR, educator, work for regulatory agency
Yes
It is important that BC remain up to date in terms of new technologies and practices introduced in the Code as well as maintaining harmonization with the rest of Canada.
In addition to now requiring the identified conductor to be installed at luminaire control devices, by changing the word "neutral" to "identified" Item d) of Subrule 1) now requires that the identified conductor be pigtailed in device boxes.,
As mentioned earlier, BC should avoid making amendments to the Code and use the national process to effect change.
Jun 6, 2018,
7.24 AM
Electrical contractor, Provisional Government, General public, ther, Red seal electrician, FSR, Other trade, property management, work for regulatory agency
Yes
 
 
Jun 6, 2018,
7.05 AM
Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 6, 2018,
6.41 AM
Provisional Government, General public, red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 6, 2018,
6.28 AM
Provisional Government, red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 6, 2018,
5.43 AM
Electrical contractor
Unsure
 
Cost for code implementation on home owners and builders.
Jun 6, 2018,
12.15 AM
General public, FSR
Yes

T taps provide a safer alternative to t towers when it comes to weight when rigging above and also when laying cable on the ground reducing tripping hazards. T taps also make branch circuit runs of cable more flexible and reducing the amount of cable being used.
Section 66.,
The electrical code book and amendments to be sent like this email or available to all fsr holders at no cost. This would prompt all fsr holders to update their current application of the electrical code. It has become a requirement for fsr holders to renew their certification this renewal should include a current copy of the electrical code book when they are produced or any amendments that have been added. I know I don’t regularly get those amendments and it seems to me it should be the responsibility of the BC safety authority to notify fsr's when an amendment has been made or a new version of the guidelines (i.e. code book) is produced. Our lives are busy enough trying to keep customers happy and meet deadlines without having to check daily for updates. If I changed something it is my responsibility to update my customer. It shouldn’t all fall on the fsr to discover, purchase and research changes proposed by the safety authority or the province.
Jun 5, 2018,
10.07 PM
General public, Red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 5, 2018,
8.15 PM
Electrical contractor, red seal electrician, General public, Developer/ Architect
Yes
 
 
Jun 5, 2018,
7.56 PM
Other
Neutral
 
 
Jun 5, 2018,
7.38 PM
Electrical contractor, red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
An Identified conductor at switches is long overdue. It seemed that bonding conductors were sometimes incorporated in lieu.
Jun 5, 2018,
7.21 PM
Electrical contractor, General public, red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
 
Jun 5, 2018,
7.00 PM
General public, red seal electrician, FSR
Yes
 
Requiring that powered switches be wired with an identified conductor is a very good idea, it will make new installation safer and will also make troubleshooting safer.
Jun 5, 2018,
6.43 PM
Red seal electrician, FSR, educator
Yes
I agree with simplifying the application and language of the code. I see the Section 10 rewrite, 8-104 rewrite, and elimination of 8-106(1) as very good things.
Positive impact by removing 8-106(1) - This rule is rarely applied properly and leads to a great amount of confusion among tradesmen.
Jun 5, 2018,
6.32 PM
Provincial Government, General Public, FSR
Yes
 
Useful to have likeminded info in the same place.
Jun 5, 2018,
6.14 PM
Electrical contractor, Other trades
Yes
 
 
Jun 5, 2018,
5.49 PM
Electrical Contractor, General Public, FSR
Yes
 
 
June 5, 2018,
5.49 PM
Electrical Contractor, Provincial Government, General Public, Red seal electrician, FSR, Other trade
Yes

Yes. The CEC seems to impact the journeyman electricians the most in my opinion. The CEC helps us certified tradespeople to regulate our work in a safe saw. Although sometimes it is overboard, the guild lines in the CEC are effective in keeping electrical employees updated with current changes in the industry that affect both employees and Canadian customers alike. The actual workers use “trade practices” for good judgement of the code but it gives us rules to follow which are enforced by local regulating bodies and in turn, keep us all safe and provide quality work for the customers.
The renewable energy, grounding/bonding, and hazardous locations in specific to name 3. These three topics provide strong safety solution and conversations that should be had to secure our future as certified tradespeople in the industry.
June 5, 2018,
5.38 PM
FSR
Yes
Changes make sense.,
Pigtails should be required at receptacles.
Identified conductor at a switch.
 
 
 
 
 
June 5, 2018,
5.34 PM
Electrical Contractor
Yes
Review neutral in every switch, too expensive.
Section 10 needs to be reviewed regarding use of 5 conductor overhead lines.
June 5, 3018,
5.33 PM
FSR
Neutral
 
 
June 5, 2018,
5:28 PM
Electrical Contractor, Red Seal Electrician and FSR
Yes
 
 
June 5, 3018,
5:25 PM
Electrical Contractor, Red Seal Electrician and FSR
Unsure
There is still another unwarranted cost increase.
Identified conductor in power switches. Arc fault breakers do more harm than good and should not be reassessed!
June 5, 3018,
5:18 PM
Government and FSR
Neutral
 
 
June 5, 2018,
3:49 PM
Homeowner/member of the general public
Yes
Appears logical