COVID-19 client service update

Safety critical assessments and incident investigations are continuing. Read the latest COVID-19 information.

Technical Safety BC - Annual Report 2019 - Corporate Governance

The Board

We are governed by a Board of Directors that provide oversight and ensure that we are safe, transparent, and collaborative in our practices.


George Abbott, Chair of the Board

Chair of the Board location: Victoria, BC
Director since: January 6, 2014
Latest date for retirement: April 1, 2022
Appointed by: Board
Positions held:
Ex officio, Finance & Audit Committee
Ex officio, Strategic Advisory Committee
Ex officio, Governance & Human Resources Committee

George Abbott is a veteran politician with a PhD in political science at the University of Victoria. First elected as an MLA for the Shuswap in 1996, George has served as Minister of Education, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, Minister of Health, Minister of Community, Aboriginal and Women’s Services, and Minister of Sustainable Resource Management.

George was Deputy House Leader for the Official Opposition and critic for municipal affairs and forests. He was Deputy Chair of the select standing committees on Forests, Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, and was a member of the select standing committee on Aboriginal Affairs. Additionally, he sat on the Official Opposition Caucus Committee on Crime.

Before his election to the Legislative Assembly, George was a political science instructor at Okanagan University College. He also owned the oldest and largest berry farm in the Interior.

View Board members

Download the 2019 Annual Report

Read the full Annual Report 2019

for further details of Technical Safety BC’s activities and achievements in 2019, the Management Discussion and Analysis, and Independent Auditor’s Report