COVID-19 client service update

Safety critical assessments and incident investigations are continuing, as per our mandate. More information here.

pressure welder image
pressure welder

Pressure Welder: Become a recognized test administrator

Become a recognized test administrator

Recognized test administrators play a fundamental role in the certification of Pressure Welders in BC. While some recognized test administrators take on this role to create a pipeline of trained Pressure Welders to various industries, others take on this role to ensure their own employees continue to maintain their knowledge and skills required to perform pressure welding.

A recognized test administrator is acknowledged by the Provincial Safety Manager to be competent in administering performance qualification tests and certificate of qualification practical exams for Pressure Welders in BC.

An individual or company can apply to become a recognized test administrator, provided they are able to meet the application requirements outlined below.

How to apply

Step 1: Complete the recognized test administrator application form.

Step 2: Complete quality manual review checklists for the administration of welding performance qualification tests.

Step 3: Complete quality control manual as outlined in the welding performance qualifications test administrator guidance manual MAN-4018.

Step 4: Submit all documents to with the subject line: Recognized test administrator.

Step 5: Once the application is reviewed, Technical Safety BC will contact you to pay the minimum charge of assessment fee (non-refundable, by hourly Safety Services Rate in accordance with the fee schedule. 5 hours is the minimum for a new application).

Step 6: A safety officer will then evaluate your quality control manual and schedule a site visit to assess the effective implementation of your quality control program.

Step 7: Once the documentation has been evaluated and the site assessment is complete, you will be notified of your recognition. If you are successful, you will be provided with a recognition letter.Your company will also be added to the list of recognized test administrators.

Please note: you may be invoiced additional fees, if the designated safety officer spends more than the minimum 5-hour allotment to support you through the recognition process.

How to renew

All letters of recognition expire on November 30, annually. To renew your recognition, please complete steps 1, 2, 4, and 5 before your letter expires. The average processing time for renewals is one hour. Once you have renewed your recognition, you may be subjected to a follow-up evaluation to ensure your quality control program continues to function as documented in your quality control manual.