Technical Safety BC announces recipients of 2018 Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards

Bill Yearwood to be honoured with Lifetime Achievement award

Vancouver, BC (October 10, 2018) – Technical Safety BC today announced the recipients of its 2018 Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards, recognizing individuals and organizations who demonstrate exceptional leadership, achievement or innovation in technical safety in British Columbia.

“These are heroes who come to work every day and their job has a component of making sure that a technical piece of equipment is not going to hurt somebody the next day, or the next month or the next year,” says Catherine Roome, President and CEO of Technical Safety BC.  In championing safety practices and demonstrating leadership in their sectors, they have made an outstanding contribution to the safety of technical systems in British Columbia.” said Roome.

The Lieutenant Governor Safety Awards will be presented by Technical Safety BC at Parq Vancouver on November 7, 2018.

Lieutenant Governor Award Categories and Recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award - Bill Yearwood

Yearwood has made tremendous contributions to safety during his nearly 20 years as the Manager of Aviation Accident Investigations for the Transport Safety Board of Canada. “All sectors who conduct investigations have learned from the excellence that Bill demonstrates – not simply his technical abilities to understand cause, but his compassion for everyone involved in these tragedies.” continued Roome. “Service to the public isn’t separate from him. It’s not what he does - it’s who he is.”

Exceptional Contribution to Technical Safety (Asset Owner) - Upstream Chief Inspectors Association

The UCIA helps to ensure the safety, reliability, and integrity of upstream oil and gas facilities by providing a forum for sharing industry best practices, lessons learned, and concerns or issues related to pressure equipment management.

Data and Digital Technology in Technical Safety - Western Pacific Enterprises Ltd.

WPE leverages collaboration software to record safety stats throughout its work sites and uses the data to mitigate re-occurrence, enabling employees to work across the organization to make safety a top priority.

Exceptional Contribution to Technical Safety (Contractor) - Dale Risvold

Through a career spanning nearly 40 years, Risvold has promoted electrical safety through safe electrical installations and has shared his expertise with the younger generation as they join the industry.

Excellence in Safety and Technical Training - Eric Peterson

As President and CEO of GUNN Consultants, and through his work in promoting education and developing training programs, Peterson has set a higher standard for elevator consultants across B.C.

Award recipients were selected by the Safety Award Selection Committee, which includes a member of Technical Safety BC's senior leadership team and representatives from other organizations that play an integral role in BC's technical safety system.

The event will be held on Wednesday, November 7, 2018 at Parq Vancouver (Kitsilano Ballroom):

  • Registration begins 11:30 am
  • Lunch and Awards 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
  • Reception 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Tickets to the event can be purchased online at

About Technical Safety BC

Technical Safety BC is an independent, self-funded organization that oversees the safe installation and operation of technical systems and equipment. In addition to issuing permits, licences and certificates, it works with industry to reduce safety risks through assessment, education and outreach, enforcement, and research.



For more information, please contact:

Media Relations

Technical Safety BC
778 396 2164

Share article on