Boiler Safety Awareness Certificate of Competency Examination Syllabus

Effective: June 2000

Prerequisites to obtain a Boiler Safety Awareness Certificate (BSA)                       

  1. Complete an approved BSA course.

  2. Be employed in a general supervision or risk-assessed plant.

  3. Provide written documentation from the plant's Power Engineer attesting:

    a)    that the plant has specific (posted) directions that will enable the RSA Certificate holder to effectively recognize, and remedy by reporting unsafe conditions; and
    b)    that the RSA applicant has received training and is qualified on in-plant shutdown and safety procedures specific to RSA Certificate holders plant.

  4. Pass a boiler safety awareness examination.

Scope of Boiler Awareness Certificate (BSA)

  • A BSA certificate entitles the holder to be in attendance to watch over the boiler or boilers named on the BSA certificate in a general supervision status plant or risk assessed status plant as per the Regulations.
  • The holder of a BSA certificate is not permitted to operate or perform any repairs to the refrigeration plant but is permitted to shut down the plant or initiate safety procedures if specifically trained and assigned to perform such tasks.

Subject areas of study

Each of the four subsections is weighted at approximately 25%.

1. B.C. Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Legislation:

  1. Safety Standards Act and applicable regulation;
  2. Responsibilities of a safety awareness certified person;
  3. Responsibilities of a plant safety committee;
  4. Reporting of accidents and incidents;
  5. CSA B51 general code knowledge; and
  6. Log books and records, why signed and dated, and their use.

2. Boiler and Pressure Vessel Systems:

  1. History of safety codes and legislation;
  2. Steam boiler;
  3. Low pressure hot water, organic and unfired plants;
  4. Steam and or hot water use, properties and dangers;
  5. Pressure vessels and heat exchangers;
  6. Location of safety valves, discharge piping and their purpose;
  7. Location of low water cut out and purpose; and
  8. Indications of gas, oil, or steam leaks, and water leaks in closed systems, their effects and dangers.

3. Safety Equipment:

  1. Types of accidents. and accident prevention;
  2. Classes of fires and fire protection equipment; and
  3. Safety controls, their purpose and locations.

4. Safety Procedures:

  1. Safety alarms, shutdown devices and procedures;
  2. Emergency shutdowns;
  3. Evacuation procedures; and
  4. Safe work practices.

Note: Provision of appropriate WCB & WHMIS training is the responsibility of the employer.